Storm Damage

One thing that’s completely different from the Golden State of California and Minne(snow)ta is the weather.  Duh.

Well recently its been raining.  A lot.  Like breaking records kind of rain.  

Now for this native So Cal girl the change in scenery is a welcome change of pace.  But my tree disagrees.  

Image

 

Image

Image

This was really an unwelcome change in our backyard as that particular tree added much needed shade on the play equipment for the kids.  Music Man was forced to chopping up the remainder of the tree that had fallen.

Image

Image

He had to bring out the big boy tools like this one

Image

Even I had to come help (my arm obviously photobombed this picture)

Image

Unfortunately this storm showcased a new problem we have.  Carpenter ants.  They are massive sized ants that destroy wood.  And apparently our tree was its mega sized buffet line for some time.

Image

Do you see the gigantic hole they ate out of the trunk of the tree?  If I weren’t so sad about losing the tree I would take the time to marvel at the sheer volume of destruction these mighty workers did, but I’m too busy feeling sorry for my now too sunny backyard.

Here’s a shot of the inside of the trunk that was just beginning to be eaten through.  I have to admit it is kind of beautiful.

Image

 

Well, I guess its always nice to have a stock pile of firewood for those summer s’mores.  

2 thoughts on “Storm Damage

  1. Wow. This is incredible! And so unfortunate! We lost a limb off of our oak tree last winter and I took the offense personally. It just plain hurt my feelings. 🙂 I didn’t want that limb to fall off. I wanted it to shade our rock box… I feel your pain!

    • Exactly Becca! I was super bummed that the shade is now gone on the sandbox. I asked Music Man if we could move the sandbox and he informed me of the massive request I was attempting to ask. Needless to say it looks like its staying right where it is. 😦

Leave a Reply

