closet shame

“That’s freak’n funny”

This is what my dear sweet husband says as he opens the door to my closet.  You see I’m sitting on the floor reading my kindle while eating a few pieces of chocolate.

I thought I was in heaven.

I’ve been caught.

You see I’m hiding from the children.

You see it’s 5 o’clock and its too early for dinner and bedtime, but too late for the naps they were supposed to take.  They are loud, obnoxious, delirious, pestering and cranky.

I want nothing to do with them.

Well for at least 20 minutes or so.  Is that so much to ask?

I get it.  This is the job I signed up for.  A 24/7 no vacation (because vacations are far more work than regular life!) no pay, no promotion, no outstanding award winner, no upward ladder climbing job I have.  Which is fine.  Most days.  But sometimes?  Sometimes a girl just needs to get away.

So my get away was a closet.

Maybe next time I’ll head to a room with a lock on it.

Please tell me that you too have devised a “good luck your on your own peeps!’ moment just to get a little alone time.  I can’t be the only one.  Right?  Right??  Tell me about it!

One thought on “closet shame

  1. Oh, I remember those days well!! My closets were too small, so had to resort to the bathroom. I never thought about bringing chocolate with me, but it sure does sound like a great idea! More power to you, Kandi. Hope the book and chocolate soothed your soul enough to ” face the music” once you resumed your “mommy” role. I have a wonderful visual of your escape choice. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

