California bound (again)

So this past week has been nothing short of a whirlwind.  We went back to California for a wedding and made it a quick trip.  But not so quick that we didn’t have some to party it up like college kids because we were KIDS FREE.  It was such a rarity that we honestly didn’t even know what to do with ourselves.  Music man was nearly narcaleptic since the moment we got on the plane (understandable since we had only gotten a few hours of sleep), but I was like a sugar highed preschooler who had just inhaled her last m&m.  I was hyper and ready for FUN.  

By the time we had landed I was sober with a lot more of my book read and back to the land of reality sleepiness.  So after a nice breakfast with the Mother and Father of the Bride, who were kind enough to be our airport chauffeurs, we did what every parent dreams of.

We took a nap.  

In the middle of the day.

For as long as we could (which wasn’t very long due to my inner sugar addicted child screaming for big fun).

And it was GLORIOUS.

A parental dream come true for sure.

After we got the most important thing out of the way we decided to check out our measley fruit trees and discovered that there were some peaches ready and ripe to eat!

IMG_6192

IMG_6191

Since we had zero food in our fridge, these beauties became our breakfast for the next day.  

Now that we were rested and had nothing on the agenda we decided to live it up suburban style and go out to eat (where we could actually eat warm food) and see a movie that I had been waiting so patiently to see (Divergent).

We wound up eating our favorite cuisine, sushi.  It was heavenly.  Generous portions of amazing fish.  So good.  However, since it was an all you can eat situation, I decided to test my luck.  I thought “Hey things are going so well right now why don’t I screw it up?”  Ok so I didn’t actually think that.  What I actually thought was “Hey I’m going to be adventurous!”  Which of course was an awful mistake.

I ordered a quail egg shooter.  

IMG_6195

As soon as I saw it I thought “NO NO NO NO”.

But I can’t back down now.

IMG_6194

Down the hatch!  

I don’t recommend it.  *barf*

(please excuse the bad hair.  It looked cuter in person.  Or so I thought)

Main point?  We had a rare moment without kids, responsibility, or work.  Basically it was awesome.  

IMG_6223

*Music man and I at our friends mountain top/golf course wedding*

2 thoughts on “California bound (again)

Leave a Reply

