Habit of Hospitality

Being a Christian is more than just absentmindedly saying “yes I believe in God”.  True, this is a foundation of faith.  However, believing in Jesus and His teachings goes beyond that.  If you believe than your heart will pour out and your actions will speak for you.

“So you see, faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless.”  James 2:17

Don’t confuse this with the popular teachings of our collective morality, which is to say that if you do good works, than you are saved.  Good works does not equal salvation!

All this to say, I have really taken this to heart in the last year.  If I proclaim to be a Christian, then I must make it a priority to go into the world and show God’s love.  As a stay-at-home-mom of 4 little ones, this isn’t always the easiest task.  But it can be done.

For a brief time I was able to participate in a bible study with an amazing, funny and personable teacher.  She invited me, my children (I only had 2 at the time) and a friend of mine and her 2 young children.  At the time, our teacher (we will call her Mrs. K), was living with a widowed friend of hers.  Her friend had a huge and beautiful house with a picturesque backyard.  Mrs. K’s friend, Nina, had a saying “Get ready because God will bring them“.  At first I thought “huh?”  You see, when Nina turned into a widow she decided to use her home for God’s work.  She took her chores very seriously.  She made sure to have her house clean and her fridge stocked because most assuredly God would bring his chosen people into her path to be cared for or ministered to.  When I say ‘chosen people’ I am not just talking about believers.  I really mean any person that God brings into her path.  Nina has opened her home to several bible study groups, she hosts a Thanksgiving feast for those who don’t have a home to go to, and was at the time housing her friend Mrs. K and her husband whose lives were in transition due to the poor economy.

And wouldn’t you know?  God provided the sick, needy and desperate for God’s truth and love.

This attitude has really stuck with me.

No my house isn’t perfect.  No I don’t take all of my chores perhaps as seriously as I should.  BUT I do have the mindset “God will bring them”.  I have tried to carve out time and energy to be ready for action.

A couple of weeks ago a friend of mine casually mentioned that her and her little girl were really down for the count due to a severe head cold.  So I immediately asked if I could bring her a meal.  She delightfully accepted.

Under normal circumstances I would have just said “oh I’m sorry I’ll pray for you!”, which is great, but it doesn’t quite help with her dinner situation does it?

And the other day, our dear sweet dairy farming neighbors came by to spray for bugs.  I happened to be baking some zuccini loaves.  Why not make a few more?  So to say my thanks I came by with a freshly made zuccini loaf.

This isn’t to toot my own horn to say ‘hey aren’t I awesome?’.  NO.  This is about how I have consciously made room in my life because ‘God will bring them’ because He always has people in need.  So make some room.

“We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give”— author unknown

One thought on “Habit of Hospitality

  1. This is such a good reminder! And I needed this reminder! I once had a friend tell me, you have to leave margin in your life for the unexpected. You may have noticed me yesterday…a bit of a hot mess. These two weeks have allowed little time for margin, and I feel it! I feel like I’m just eeking by. But I have high, high hopes that life will go back to normal, especially after all of this awesome family time. 🙂 Thanks for this post, Kandi!

Leave a Reply

