On the other side

Well its been pretty obvious that I’ve been missing from here.  I have plenty of good reasons though!  Have you ever tried packing up your life to spend an entire summer elsewhere with 4 children with one on the way?  Yah.  Me either.  It ain’t easy.  But luckily most of stuff is on the other side, besides the kids clothes, so that makes things much easier.

My days have been over flowing with stuff to do and people to see.  Its been a wonderful send off and I truly cherished every friend we saw before we trekked our family into our country paradise.  And now that we are here, things have turned quite upside down.  Besides a night with the in laws and a dinner with friends, its been down right boring around here.  Oh sure, Music Man sure knows how to fill his days with tending to all the chores in the outdoors, but I find myself with not much to do.

It’s weird.

I did however decide to embark on ‘living off the land’ so-to-speak and decided to try my hand at making a rhubarb dessert with our overgrowing field of rhubarb.

Blake rhubarb

Here is mini man with one stalk of our rhubarb picking.  Holy smokes Batman!  That thing was ginormous!  I made a rhubarb crisp which was more time consuming than I like, but it was well received.  I gotta admit, despite the valiant effort to disguise the tartness with mounds of sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon…. I still wasn’t much of a fan.  I haven’t given up it up completely however.  I think the next time I’ll be trying my hand at a familiar rhubarb/strawberry concoction.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

