The Princess and the Toad

This week has been quite the whirlwind.  You see we had to fly (Mr. Sunshine and I) and drive (Music Man and the rest of the munchkins) back to California.  *more on this in a later post*

Well its no small feat to accomplish this big task of moving back home.  Well our other home I guess.  Which means we had lots of work to get done beforehand.  So while my in-laws, Music Man and I were hard at work, Ariel and Mini Man were hard at work too.  They were busy in the garden with us, busy exploring nature, and most of all they were busy playing with found toads.

IMG_2138

I just LOVE the juxtaposition of my baby girl all frilly-ed up petting her toad.

IMG_2139

Just couldn’t be happier.

IMG_2144

Here she is kissing the toad.  Perhaps she honestly believes it will turn into a prince?

IMG_2147

IMG_2146

Grandma had a good idea about creating a place for the toad to sit.  Ariel actually said “We are creating a habitat!”.  Grandma and I were so surprised to hear this come from my 5 year old.

First you have to start with water…

IMG_2148

IMG_2153

Then you put in some rocks for the poor little bugger to sit.  Do you see him?

IMG_2155

There he is!

IMG_2154

Mini Man was so gentle.  Look at that one finger touch.  Like a pro.

IMG_2157

Next up on the to-do list is helping Grandma in the garden.  She was lucky to find an actual shovel just Mini Man’s size.

IMG_2158

He was a genuinely good helper.  He is only 3 1/2 but he was out there for a couple of hours right there alongside his Grandma.  I couldn’t believe it!  As Music Man says “he’ll make a good farm hand!”  And with all of our produce that our garden grows, we will surely need the help!

IMG_2156

One thought on “The Princess and the Toad

Leave a comment